What isn’t so “for sure”

There are several ingredients that are not as easy to figure out. Some may or may not contain gluten depending on the practices of the manufacturer and/or the country in which it was made, as well as labeling laws.

***Wheat-free is NOT the same as Gluten-free

A very important point to remember is that wheat-free is not necessarily gluten-free. With the labeling law changing to having to state whenever wheat is an ingredient, it is easy to forget to read the entire label if wheat isn’t listed in the allergen information or the package says wheat-free. If it says wheat-free, remember to read the ingredient list for anything that could contain barley or rye.

  • Wheatgrass

    Wheatgrass is a little tricky. The grass itself is fine and doesn’t contain gluten. But it is hard to find something with wheatgrass that has not been cross-contaminated with the seed, which does contain gluten. So if you can witness the grass and it being cut to make sure it is not contaminated with the […]
    Continue Reading →

  • Wheat Germ

    Wheat germ is a “no.” It is part of the seed and contains gluten. Just skip it.
    Continue Reading →

  • Vinegar

    Vinegar that has been made from non-gluten ingredients, such as red wine, apple cider, etc., is fine. But even vinegar that has been made from grain, but has been distilled is fine. That makes almost all vinegars ok. But, not malt vinegar. It hasn’t been distilled, and it is made with malt (barley), so it […]
    Continue Reading →

  • Vanilla/Vanilla Extract

    It doesn’t have gluten. Don’t worry when a recipe calls for gluten-free vanilla. All vanilla is gluten-free, so don’t pay extra for special vanilla.
    Continue Reading →

  • Tea

    Most tea is just fine, but be sure to read the ingredients label, especially of teas that are a blend. Barley malt is sometimes added to tea. Not sure why, but it is.
    Continue Reading →

  • Supplements, Medications, Cosmetics, Lotions

    Supplements Luckily for people with celiac disease/gluten sensitivity, supplements fall under the same regulations as processed food when it comes to labeling allergen information. If the supplement contains wheat, it must be listed clearly on the label. Please remember, this only applies to wheat, not all gluten containing ingredients. The good thing is that a […]
    Continue Reading →

  • Starch

    Sometimes the word “starch” is listed on a label as an ingredient. If it is made in the US or Canada, it means cornstarch. Starch made from any other source (such as potato, tapioca, or wheat) must have the source listed, too. So, if just “starch” is listed, and it is made in the US […]
    Continue Reading →

  • Spelt

    Even though spelt has been around longer and is more nutritious than modern wheat, it is still wheat. It is related. It still contains gluten. People with celiac disease/gluten intolerance cannot tolerate it. Be aware that there are some people who think (incorrectly) that spelt doesn’t contain gluten and market their products as gluten-free even […]
    Continue Reading →

  • Soy Sauce

    Regular soy sauce is made with wheat. Tamari is a soy sauce substitute that is supposed to not be made with wheat, but it usually is. But wheat-free tamari can be found in stores. So if you need soy sauce, look for wheat-free tamari. Just read the label to make sure it is wheat-free.
    Continue Reading →

  • Soy-milk/Rice-milk

    It is best to look on the package for the gluten-free designation. Some manufacturers use barley or wheat enzymes to make it, but the enzymes are not listed in the ingredients. There are brands that test for gluten and have “gluten-free” on the packaging.
    Continue Reading →