Blue Cheese


Is blue cheese (or bleu cheese) safe? For blue cheese lovers, this is very important to know. Depending on what you are reading or who you are talking to, you will get a different answer. First, a little note on how it is made to make the answer a little easier to understand. The blue veins in blue cheese is penicillium mold. Traditionally this mold is made with bread containing wheat. Currently, most manufacturers use a chemical starter for this mold, so gluten isn’t even an issue. But, some blue cheese is still made the traditional way. So most gluten-free sites/books/etc. say to avoid those particular blue cheeses. But now you don’t have to worry about any blue cheese. The Canadian Celiac Association tested several types of blue cheese (including those made with bread starters) and found that the gluten that is carried over into the cheese is undetectable using the R-Biopharm sandwich ELISA test, the Tepnel sandwich ELISA test, and the R-Biopharm Competitive ELISA test. (http://www.glutenfreediet.ca/img/bluecheese.pdf) So blue cheese lovers: Rejoice! And eat blue cheese without worry. This doesn’t mean you can stop looking at labels, though. If you are eating blue cheese dressing or something else made with blue cheese, you still need to check the rest of the ingredient list for anything else containing gluten.