Supplements, Medications, Cosmetics, Lotions

Supplements

Luckily for people with celiac disease/gluten sensitivity, supplements fall under the same regulations as processed food when it comes to labeling allergen information. If the supplement contains wheat, it must be listed clearly on the label. Please remember, this only applies to wheat, not all gluten containing ingredients. The good thing is that a lot of supplement companies are taking it upon themselves to declare their supplements are gluten-free if they are.

Medications

Medications are a different story. This applies to over-the-counter, as well as, prescription medications. It is sometimes difficult to find ingredient lists on medications. Ask your pharmacist and/or call the manufacturer. Sometimes ingredients are changed, so be sure to keep up to date and check often.

Cosmetics, Lotions, etc.

There are two schools of thought when it comes to topical products, such as cosmetics and lotions. First, some experts say that the gluten molecule is too big to pass through the skin, so only ingesting gluten and having it enter the system through the digestive tract has an effect on people with celiac disease/gluten sensitivity. So topical products are fine, and you don’t have to worry about them. Unless you have dermatitis herpetiformis, then topical products need to be gluten-free. BUT, other experts say that any product applied to the skin will be absorbed, even if it is just a little bit, and it will therefore enter the bloodstream and affect people with celiac disease/gluten sensitivity. So the best advice to give on this subject is to trust your gut: literally and figuratively. If you don’t want to take a chance, which is understandable, read labels, call manufacturers, and avoid gluten containing topical products. If you are already feeling too overwhelmed with all of the ingredient lists, labels, etc. and just don’t want to deal with one more thing, which is also understandable, pay attention to how you feel and how your body reacts when using topical products that may contain gluten. If you feel you are having an adverse reaction, stop using the product. However, there is one cosmetic that the experts agree on: lipstick.

Lipstick

Lipstick is definitely something that needs to be checked. Although it may not sound pretty, lipstick worn on the lips does get ingested, so the gluten content counts. Check with the manufacturer to make sure you get gluten-free lipstick. There are several alternatives available, but be diligent. Most lipstick is made with gluten ingredients to help it bind better.