I know this may seem like a strange post for my third one, but I have a mother who loves blue cheese, or bleu cheese for those of you who prefer the French spelling. I’m not sure she could survive without blue cheese. She might actually go through withdrawal symptoms if she had to stop eating it. Do you get the picture?
Anyway, she has not been tested for Celiac disease, but if she were and it came out positive, I have happy news. Blue cheese is ok. Yes folks, it is ok to eat blue cheese if you can’t have gluten. For those of you who don’t know much about this, blue cheese has been controversial for a while because of how it is made. The blue veins in blue cheese is penicillium mold. Traditionally this mold is made with bread containing wheat. Currently, most manufacturers use a chemical starter for this mold, so gluten isn’t even an issue. But, some blue cheese is still made the traditional way. So most gluten free sites/books/etc. say to avoid those particular blue cheeses. But now you don’t have to worry about any blue cheese. The Canadian Celiac Association tested several types of blue cheese (including those made with bread starters) and found that the gluten that is carried over into the cheese is undetectable using the R-Biopharm sandwich ELISA test, the Tepnel sandwich ELISA test, and the R-Biopharm Competitive ELISA test. (http://www.celiac.ca/bluecheese.php).
So blue cheese lovers: Rejoice! And eat blue cheese without worry. This doesn’t mean you can stop looking at labels, though. If you are eating blue cheese dressing or something else made with blue cheese, you still need to check the rest of the ingredient list for anything else containing gluten.
If any of you having been craving your blue cheese but have been holding off because you were unsure, now you’re not. Until next time, here’s to…Living better, easily!™